Daily Archives: May 31, 2011

Who is George Orwell Anyway?

George Orwell a.k.a Eric Blair was born in 1903 in Motihari, Bengal. He was one of two children, his mother took his sister and him to England and he would not see his father until 1907. He started school at the Anglican Parish school, but impressed his teachers so much that he was recommended for one of the most successful prep schools in England, and there he finished his education. He received scholarships to multiple colleges, Wellington and Eton, he attended Wellington for just one term before switching to Eton. At Eton some of the teachers would claim that he was disrespectful, but others would disagree. He did not further his education after Eton, instead he joined the Indian Imperial Police in Burma. After realizing that he hated imperialism he returned to England. It was then he adopted the pen name of George Orwell and began writing. As most writers do, Orwell lived in poverty for several years, at times he was even homeless. Eventually Orwell found work as a school teacher until he fell ill, and was forced to take up work in a secondhand book shop.

Then, the Spanish Civil War broke out, and Orwell volunteered to fight against the republicans and a Nationalist uprising. After being shot in the neck, and almost having his wife, Eileen, and himself arrested, Orwell and Eileen fled Spain. Orwell’s overall views were against Stalin, always, even after we was done fighting and Spain and had left. Orwell was married to Eileen O’Shaughness from 1936 to 1945, in 1945 Eileen died during an operation. Before Eileen died Orwell and Eileen had adopted a son. Shortly before Orwell’s death he married Sonia Brownell. Orwell spent his last four years of life in the hospital until he died in 1949 of Tuberculosis.

During Orwell’s lifetime he wrote many novels, they include, Burmese DaysA Clergyman’s DaughterKeep the Aspidistra FlyingComing Up for AirAnimal Farm and Nineteen Eighty-Four. Most of Orwell’s novels were semi-autobiographical,Burmese Days was inspired by his period working as an imperial policeman and is fictionalized; Down and Out in Paris and London records his experiences tramping and teaching in those two cities; The Road to Wigan Pier is initially a study of poverty in the north of England, but ends with an extended biographical essay of Orwell’s experiences with poverty; and Homage to Catalonia recounts his experiences volunteering to fight fascism in anarchist Catalonia during the Spanish Civil War (Fenwick). George Orwell’s stories have inspired many dystopian films, and just films based on his books (Animal Farm).

Along with multiple books, Orwell wrote MANY essays. Orwell got at least one essay published every year from 1931 to 1949. The subjects of these essays ranged from all different categories.

Sources:

http://georgeorwellnovels.com/biography-of-george-orwell/

http://www.george-orwell.org/l_biography.html

The Book is Read, Now Here is What I Think…

Weeks have passed, and now, I have officially finished my final book of high school. 1984, while I cannot say it was least favorite book, (I read “The Tempest”) it was not my favorite book. I would probably not recommend this book to my friends, because like me, they enjoy love stories, like Nicholas Sparks. However, for people who enjoy an almost Sci-Fi style of writing, this would be a perfect read. If I were a person who likes a good dystopian story, this book would be right up my ally. I think that for a dystopian novel it is written very well,it really does make you just look at the world of the people in this book, and truly feel bad for them. This book makes you ask yourself a lot of questions. Could this happen in our society today? Well, I sure hope not, I hope that people now are smart enough to not allow it to happen. Though with some of the people I have met, the world might not be smart enough to keep this from happening. Who is Big Brother, and is he really watching? Honestly, I do not think Big Brother is anyone. I think there is a group of people who want to be the ultimate leaders. I think that they are looking after people to make sure that the people of the society do not become smart enough to realize that the Big Brother they are looking up to does not exist. All in all, it was a book that I could manage to get through, but not a book I would go back to when I wanted to read a good book, as I often reread a lot of books. I like books that do not make you think much, they just flow in your mind. 1984 made me think, and it actually made me kind of sad, because I do not like seeing people being oppressed as they were in this book, I just wish I could dive into the book and make them make sense of what was going on. Read this book if you like a good book that makes your life look good, but if you want a book that you can just mindlessly read and love, then I recommend a good love story written by Nicholas Sparks!